न कर्तृत्वं न कर्माणि लोकस्य सृजति प्रभुः ।
न कर्मफलसंयोगं स्वभावस्तु प्रवर्तते ।

भावार्थ : परमेश्वर मनुष्यों के न तो कर्तापन की, न कर्मों की और न कर्मफल के संयोग की रचना करते हैं, किन्तु स्वभाव ही बर्त रहा है॥14॥

The embodied spirit, master of the city of his body, does not create activities, nor does he induce people to act, nor does he create the fruits of action. All this is enacted by the modes of material nature.


The living entity, as will be explained in the Seventh Chapter, is one in nature with the Supreme Lord, distinguished from matter, which is another nature—called inferior—of the Lord. Somehow, the superior nature, the living entity, has been in contact with material nature since time immemorial. The temporary body or material dwelling place which he obtains is the cause of varieties of activities and their resultant reactions. Living in such a conditional atmosphere, one suffers the results of the activities of the body by identifying himself (in ignorance) with the body. It is ignorance acquired from time immemorial that is the cause of bodily suffering and distress. As soon as the living entity becomes aloof from the activities of the body, he becomes free from the reactions as well. As long as he is in the city of body, he appears to be the master of it, but actually he is neither its proprietor nor controller of its actions and reactions. He is simply in the midst of the material ocean, struggling for existence. The waves of the ocean are tossing him, and he has no control over them. His best solution is to get out of the water by transcendental Krsna consciousness. That alone will save him from all turmoil.


सर्वकर्माणि मनसा संन्यस्यास्ते सुखं वशी ।
नवद्वारे पुरे देही नैव कुर्वन्न कारयन्‌ ॥

भावार्थ : अन्तःकरण जिसके वश में है, ऐसा सांख्य योग का आचरण करने वाला पुरुष न करता हुआ और न करवाता हुआ ही नवद्वारों वाले शरीर रूप घर में सब कर्मों को मन से त्यागकर आनंदपूर्वक सच्चिदानंदघन परमात्मा के स्वरूप में स्थित रहता है॥13॥

When the embodied living being controls his nature and mentally renounces all actions, he resides happily in the city of nine gates [the material body], neither working nor causing work to be done.


The embodied soul lives in the city of nine gates. The activities of the body, or the figurative city of body, are conducted automatically by the particular modes of nature. The soul, although subjecting himself to the conditions of the body, can be beyond those conditions, if he so desires. Owing only to forgetfulness of his superior nature, he identifies with the material body, and therefore suffers. By Krsna consciousness, he can revive his real position and thus come out of his embodiment. Therefore, when one takes to Krsna consciousness, one at once becomes completely aloof from bodily activities. In such a controlled life, in which his deliberations are changed, he lives happily within the city of nine gates. The nine gates are described as follows:

nava-dvare pure dehi hamso lelayate bahih
vasi sarvasya lokasya sthavarasya carasya ca.

"The Supreme Personality of Godhead, who is living within the body of a living entity, is the controller of all living entities all over the universe. The body consists of nine gates: two eyes, two nostrils, two ears, one mouth, the anus and the genital. The living entity in his conditioned stage identifies himself with the body, but when he identifies himself with the Lord within himself, he becomes just as free as the Lord, even while in the body." (Svet. 3.18)

Therefore, a Krsna conscious person is free from both the outer and inner activities of the material body.


युक्तः कर्मफलं त्यक्त्वा शान्तिमाप्नोति नैष्ठिकीम्‌ ।
अयुक्तः कामकारेण फले सक्तो निबध्यते ॥

भावार्थ : कर्मयोगी कर्मों के फल का त्याग करके भगवत्प्राप्ति रूप शान्ति को प्राप्त होता है और सकामपुरुष कामना की प्रेरणा से फल में आसक्त होकर बँधता है॥12॥

The steadily devoted soul attains unadulterated peace because he offers the result of all activities to Me; whereas a person who is not in union with the Divine, who is greedy for the fruits of his labor, becomes entangled.


The difference between a person in Krsna consciousness and a person in bodily consciousness is that the former is attached to Krsna, whereas the latter is attached to the results of his activities. The person who is attached to Krsna and works for Him only is certainly a liberated person, and he is not anxious for fruitive rewards. In the Bhagavatam, the cause of anxiety over the result of an activity is explained as being due to one's functioning in the conception of duality, that is, without knowledge of the Absolute Truth. Krsna is the Supreme Absolute Truth, the Personality of Godhead. In Krsna consciousness, there is no duality. All that exists is a product of Krsna's energy, and Krsna is all good. Therefore, activities in Krsna consciousness are on the absolute plane; they are transcendental and have no material effect. One is, therefore, filled with peace in Krsna consciousness. One who is, however, entangled in profit calculation for sense gratification cannot have that peace. This is the secret of Krsna consciousness—realization that there is no existence besides Krsna is the platform of peace and fearlessness.


avajananti mam mudha manusim tanum ashritam
param bhavam ajananto mama bhuta-mahesvaram
Fools who know Me not think I have assumed this form and personality. They do not know My Supreme Transcendental nature, which is unborn and limitless. Nor do they know My supreme dominion over all. (Bhagavad-gita 9.11)
purnananda-cit-svarupa jagannatha-raya
taore kaili jada-nasvara-prakrta-kaya!!
purna-sad-aisvarya chaitanya svayam bhagavan
taore kaili ksudra jiva sphulioga-samana!!
dui-thani aparadhe paibi durgati!
atattva-jna ‘tattva’ varne, tara ei riti!
ara eka kariyacha parama ‘pramada’!
deha-dehi-bheda isvare kaile ‘aparadha’!
isvarera nahi kabhu deha-dehi-bheda
svarupa, deha, cid-ananda, nahika vibheda
Lord Jagannatha is completely spiritual and full of transcendental bliss, but you have compared Him to a dull destructible body composed of material elements. You have calculated that Shri Chaitanya, who is Godhead Himself and full in six opulences, to be on the level of an ordinary living being. Instead of knowing Him as the Supreme fire, you have accepted Him as a spark. Because of this offense against Lord Jagannatha and Lord Chaitanya you will go to hell. You do not know how to describe the Absolute Truth, nevertheless you have tried to do so, and therefore you must be condemned. You are in complete illusion, for you have distinguished between the body and soul of Lord Jagannatha and Chaitanya Mahaprabhu. That is a great offense. At no time is there any distinction between the Supreme Lord and His body and soul. His personal identity and His body are made of eternal, blissful spiritual energy. There is no distinction between them. (Cc. Antya 5.118-122)